Author Topic: Can autchart create map if there is no lake outline?  (Read 1304 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline marknfish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jun 2010
  • location: Ottawa, Canada
  • Posts: 91
  • Unit(s): 997SI,Helix10MegSI,Helix5PT
  • Accessories: Cannonlink, I-PilotLink,digitrol 5
Can autchart create map if there is no lake outline?
« on: June 27, 2016, 06:23:05 AM »
I live in Canada (Eastern Ontario) specifically and fish mostly South/Eastern Ontario and South Western Quebec. As there are virtually no bodies of water provided on Lakemaster for Canada let alone this densely populated area, auto pilot link is virtually useless to us unless we create our own maps with autochart. 
aside : Hey Lakemaster - Canada exists, please create maps !

There is a lake which is well known in Eastern Ontario stocked with Walleye and has other species ranging to Lake Trout but its not on any Navionics maps and is not in the base Maps (ie had Canada Hot Maps, fishn chips and lake Ontario riedau seaway platinum cards). ie It looks like Im boating and fishing on land when I am on this lake.   So my thought was that If I upgraded from my 997CSI to a helix 10 I could create a chart for this and other lakes not charted. But in reading about the blank Card that has the lake borders from which to start I am concerned that the lakes that don't appear on the base map cant be "auto-charted"

So this is my question: Can auto-chart create a map for any body of water even if its not in existence as far as hummingbird equipment or software concerned? 

Also where can I find a list of lakes that are possible to create autocharts with if in fact is needs to have a blank template of the lake/body of water?  This lake in particular is called Lake Clear near Eganville, ON but I am sure  there are many more


Offline D S

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jun 2011
  • location: saskatchewan canada
  • Posts: 200
  • Unit(s): 1198 ,798hd ,798csi ipilot link
  • Software: 7.5
  • Accessories: HDSI reefmaster Dr Depth autocharts pro
Re: Can autchart create map if there is no lake outline?
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2016, 09:47:16 AM »
yes
but shorelines add a lot to a map
there are lots of Canadian lakes on AC
you can also draw your own shoreline in GE convert to kml and import it into AC if your lake is not there
also can u post the gps coordinates and maybe a GE picture of the lake
 then I will check my ac program for you to see if it is there on AC
DS
stgr

Offline marknfish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jun 2010
  • location: Ottawa, Canada
  • Posts: 91
  • Unit(s): 997SI,Helix10MegSI,Helix5PT
  • Accessories: Cannonlink, I-PilotLink,digitrol 5
Re: Can autchart create map if there is no lake outline?
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2016, 05:15:05 PM »
https://www.google.ca/maps/place/Lake+Clear,+ON/@45.4399397,-77.2189274,6214m/data=!3m1!1e3!4m5!3m4!1s0x4cd3e2c47c598255:0x506c92dbdcf6fff4!8m2!3d45.465591!4d-77.227682

let me know if this works. its the url for the map on google maps

Offline D S

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jun 2011
  • location: saskatchewan canada
  • Posts: 200
  • Unit(s): 1198 ,798hd ,798csi ipilot link
  • Software: 7.5
  • Accessories: HDSI reefmaster Dr Depth autocharts pro
Re: Can autchart create map if there is no lake outline?
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2016, 09:14:54 PM »
 pic of lake on ac zerolines
remember even if its not there u can draw your own shoreline in GE ant then import kml
ds
stgr

Offline marknfish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jun 2010
  • location: Ottawa, Canada
  • Posts: 91
  • Unit(s): 997SI,Helix10MegSI,Helix5PT
  • Accessories: Cannonlink, I-PilotLink,digitrol 5
Re: Can autchart create map if there is no lake outline?
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2016, 05:17:49 AM »
Thanks for your help and answers. BTW what does  GE stand for (General electric? lol)

Offline Gimp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2013
  • location: Northern, WI
  • Posts: 72
  • Unit(s): 998 HD SI
  • Accessories: i-Pilot Link
Re: Can autchart create map if there is no lake outline?
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2016, 05:21:28 AM »
GE = Google Earth. You can download it, and then draw in shorelines ( as a polygon)and save them as a .KML file. Doing it this way takes a little time but is usually much more accurate.

Offline marknfish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jun 2010
  • location: Ottawa, Canada
  • Posts: 91
  • Unit(s): 997SI,Helix10MegSI,Helix5PT
  • Accessories: Cannonlink, I-PilotLink,digitrol 5
Re: Can autchart create map if there is no lake outline?
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2016, 10:20:23 AM »
Thanks so much. It's the time you save others by sharing the best practices that's most helpful. Don't mind the time  to create stuff when I know I'm using a workable process. Still yet to upgrade. Hay. Can I stI'll import and create maps like this for my 997so at least I'm not fishing on land?

As an aside. I'm reading competing praise for the mapping and guidance systemms for Lowrance and their motor guide with their link equivalent.  Seems u can navigate with other charts tlike navionics? I've these charts already vs having to create all of them


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
0 Replies
2522 Views
Last post August 18, 2011, 07:03:51 PM
by RGecy
11 Replies
5605 Views
Last post April 19, 2012, 08:15:50 AM
by albe
2 Replies
1870 Views
Last post September 23, 2012, 07:36:32 AM
by albe
4 Replies
1868 Views
Last post June 10, 2013, 09:04:02 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
3 Replies
1299 Views
Last post July 03, 2013, 09:02:11 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
6 Replies
1605 Views
Last post August 18, 2013, 10:16:19 AM
by LittleGazoo
1 Replies
1030 Views
Last post September 03, 2013, 09:10:23 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
2 Replies
518 Views
Last post July 15, 2016, 05:12:02 AM
by Beaulieu80


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal