Author Topic: 597 CI HD DI help  (Read 3480 times)

Offline Ozzy

• Unit(s): 597 CI HD DI
  • Software: 6.640
597 CI HD DI help
« on: July 27, 2013, 04:58:27 PM »
First off, I'm a newb. I just purchased & finally finished installing a 597 CI HD DI yesterday.  I installed the head unit last week and played with it in Simulator mode just to kind of check things out, seemed fine. I installed the transducer yesterday, and then upgraded the software from 6.09 to 6.640 (yes, I did the restore defaults prior to the upgrade) and then off to the lake. I can't get a temp reading, my transducer has the temp probe, but no temp display or temp options in any menus. In the System Status Accessory Test screen, Temperature shows Not Connected. I wrote to HB support, but I'm not sure if my email went through. Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2013, 01:02:15 PM by Ozzy »

Offline Humminbird_Greg

• Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: 597 CI HD DI help
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2013, 01:06:04 PM »
Welcome to the Humminbird Side Imaging Forums Ozzy.

Chances are Ozzy that the problem is in the built-in temperature sensor in the transducer.  Contact Humminbird voa phone (1-800-633-1468) and set it all up to get the transducer replaced.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline Ozzy

« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2013, 10:18:51 PM »
Thanks Greg. I have another question though in the temp reading trouble shooting realm. If I disconnected the transducer, and powered up the unit, wouldn't it give me simulated temps in Simulator mode and allow me to see the temp setting options like selecting F or C, and picking where I wanted temperature to display in the Select Readouts menu? Am I nutz, it simulates location, sonar and such without the transducer connected, if it was working correctly, wouldn't it also simulate temps without a transducer connection?