Author Topic: Mounting New Transducer....  (Read 2930 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SIRookieAW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2010
  • location: Nashville, TN
  • Posts: 1
  • Unit(s): 997 SI, 788c
Mounting New Transducer....
« on: April 19, 2010, 11:46:21 AM »
Wanted to see if anyone had any suggestions for mounting the 997's transducer. I just bought a new Nitro z-8, and had the dealer install the 997 on it.  It was mounted on the jackplate, but it didn't look like it would hold up.  I asked the dealer if they had any troubles out of the mount, and of course they said no.   Well I've had the boat less than a month, and had it in the water less than a dozen times.....the mount broke free this weekend while making our initial run in a tournament first thing last Saturday morning.  The transducer is cashed because the wires pulled free, now I'm struggling with trying to get a new transducer....  Any suggestions?


Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Mounting New Transducer....
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2010, 11:55:40 AM »
A lot of fishermen are mounting their Si transducers on the jackplate of their boats.  I would call the Humminbird Customer Resource folks at 1-800-633-1468 and see about getting a new transducer.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline Kickerfish641

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2010
  • location: Iowa Falls,Iowa
  • Posts: 3
  • Unit(s): 1197 NVB-998 NVB
  • Software: 4.75
  • Accessories: INTERLINK
Re: Mounting New Transducer....
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2010, 01:29:18 PM »
I too have a Z8. After studying lots of install photos from a "bass fishing" forum board, I also chose to  mount mine to the INSIDE of the jackplate. (driver side)I mounted just the ducer-not the bracket-with a stainless bolt and nylock nut. It seems to be beter protected being on the inside!

one thing to keep in mind is that on plane, the ducer is completely out of the water. I have an in-dash puck ducer unit i realy on for depth,and utilize big HB screen for g.p.s. navigation. So far nooooo problems for me


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
0 Replies
2208 Views
Last post April 06, 2009, 01:39:12 PM
by Jolly Roger
2 Replies
3206 Views
Last post September 29, 2009, 04:58:28 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
2 Replies
2028 Views
Last post March 03, 2010, 07:47:55 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
2 Replies
2157 Views
Last post April 26, 2010, 11:44:06 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
2 Replies
2962 Views
Last post May 12, 2012, 08:51:38 PM
by newkid4si
2 Replies
3024 Views
Last post January 09, 2013, 12:34:14 PM
by jgcox6
1 Replies
765 Views
Last post August 23, 2016, 07:05:55 AM
by rnvinc
4 Replies
1340 Views
Last post September 27, 2016, 12:40:27 PM
by Mukwah


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal