Author Topic: "New" mega sonar transducer details?  (Read 728 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bigkahuna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: North Carolina
  • Posts: 147
  • Accessories: Custom ROV with Imagenex sonar
"New" mega sonar transducer details?
« on: December 15, 2017, 01:35:54 AM »
Does anyone know what each of the wires in these new transducers are for?  Looks like it's 4 twisted pair plus ground.  Would it be possible to use fewer wires if all you wanted was the mega SI (1200 khz) sonar?  Or is it a "smart" transducer using ethernet to communicate with the control unit?


Offline danlaboucane

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2017
  • location: quebec
  • Posts: 31
  • Unit(s): 788 hd,798 hd onix8 ct
  • Software: 7.6 ,3.03
  • Accessories: ethernet with adapters+temp sensor
Re: "New" mega sonar transducer details?
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2017, 10:30:50 AM »
i would guess one for each SI sides one for DI and one for 2D but i am no expert . :-[

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3422
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: "New" mega sonar transducer details?
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2017, 07:17:19 AM »
MEGA Helix xducers would be 2d, DI, left SI, right SI, temp and a common ground  ...

MEGA SOLIX xducers have a dedicated ground per channel and XID  ...

Removing wires without capability to shut off transmitters for non-used piezoes could potentially damage those transmitters  ...

SOLIX does have some control to shut off individual transmitters - HELIX is all or none  ...

Rickie
« Last Edit: December 16, 2017, 07:19:09 AM by rnvinc »

Offline bigkahuna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: North Carolina
  • Posts: 147
  • Accessories: Custom ROV with Imagenex sonar
Re: "New" mega sonar transducer details?
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2017, 07:21:09 AM »
Thanks

Quote
Removing wires without capability to shut off transmitters for non-used piezoes could potentially damage those transmitters  ...

Point taken.


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
5 Replies
2669 Views
Last post November 07, 2009, 11:16:17 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
3 Replies
5711 Views
Last post May 27, 2010, 11:36:38 AM
by Jolly Roger
9 Replies
3575 Views
Last post July 23, 2013, 09:54:05 PM
by LittleGazoo
4 Replies
2881 Views
Last post January 25, 2014, 11:57:35 PM
by Gattlin
4 Replies
1699 Views
Last post August 19, 2014, 09:41:00 AM
by Beaulieu80
0 Replies
1176 Views
Last post February 20, 2015, 08:14:07 AM
by bigkahuna
12 Replies
8035 Views
Last post May 02, 2015, 12:09:20 AM
by October1
0 Replies
551 Views
Last post June 05, 2016, 10:02:49 AM
by fishreed


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal