Author Topic: If you were to do it all over again - Autochart? Fish finder brand?  (Read 10716 times)

Offline Conrad_Turbo

• Unit(s): 798SI HD
If you had a budget of $2000-3000USD, and could start over with a fish finder what would you choose?  I have been using my 798CI HD SI for a few years now and am developing an automated contour mapping drone boat that will allow me to map lake bottoms with gridded/GPS accuracy to build high quality maps.  However I am looking at all options now, Lowrance, Humminbird, Garmin etc...

I like the use of Autochart Pro, but the data I am loading into it will be nil compared to what I load from these drone boats I plan on building and deploying.  My concern is the lack of memory errors that come up from Autochart Pro, my computer has 8 gigs of ram and can handle 3D models in SolidWworks no problem...so I am wondering if it's just a poorly coded software as I have lots of free ram when using Autochart Pro.  I need to be able to overlay sidescan data with 1:32 image resolution as well as build contour maps.  I can always reduce resolution size or make the map smaller, however I am going to be doing acres of mapping at a time and need software that will work...my questions are:

1. Is Reefmaster any better than Autochart Pro?  Can it work with Sidescan data at the highest quality possible?  Does it have the shoreline of the existing lake?  It works to build the initial map, however I would be tracing out google earth shoreline for a more accurate shoreline in the long run.
2. How is the quality of the SI imaging of Lowrance vs Humminbird or other companies out there right now?
3. What other fish finder has quality software for building contour maps or overlaying side scan data?
4. What amount of ram is necessary to map 1/32 image resolution at a map size of 7000m x 7000m? "You do not have enough memory for the current resolution setting.  Please reduce the sidescan resolution, or the size of the internal map."