Author Topic: altimeter/depth gauge  (Read 2637 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline yvautrin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 3
altimeter/depth gauge
« on: May 13, 2013, 12:02:51 AM »
Hi All,

Using my side scan, I would like to add a "altimeter" or "depth gauge" to it in order to know at exactly what depth from the bottom is my unit when i tow it inctead of doing calculation with the length of rope, etc...

The idea would be to attach a "sensor" to the unit, with a cable running along the towfish rope, with a lcd display on board providing real time information about the sonar.

JW Fisher sells one of this kind for the very affordable price of 1 300$ !!!?

If anyone has a DIY alternative solution, I would love to hear about it!

Thanks.

Yann


Offline Rüdiger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • location: Hjältevad Sweden
  • Posts: 423
  • He who seeks finds
  • Unit(s): 898 CX SI ;EAGLE 500CDF
  • Software: DrDepth BT+SS
  • Accessories: Towfish and Towcam
Re: altimeter/depth gauge
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2013, 12:55:32 AM »
Hi Yann

Welcome to the forum  :)
Use the same time a second depth sounder, then you've got the original depth and when you peel the depth of the towfish which you can get the running depth of the fish.

mvh
Rüdiger
Sorry
English is not my first language !
http://de.groups.yahoo.com/group/SOB-International/

Offline yvautrin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 3
Re: altimeter/depth gauge
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2013, 01:14:32 AM »
Hi rudiger,

Thanks for your answer!

I am quite new in SS technology, as I am only recently in charge of operating our JW SSS-100k.

The software we have is "sonar View", and on the boat, we have a raymarine c140w plotter/echosounder.

The problem I have is to be able to read in real time the depth of the unit as accurate as possible.

As far as now, I did not find a way to connect the raymarine unit to any software allowing me to read the SSS information in the same time as the echosounder...

I can do that by post-processing the information but i would like to be able to do it live...

Sorry if my question look stupid, but as I said, i am a newbiw in this field!

Thanks for your assistance !

Yann

Offline Rickard

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Luleå Sweden
  • Posts: 495
  • Unit(s): 999, 981, M37, LowBird-1, LowBird-2
Re: altimeter/depth gauge
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2013, 05:30:17 AM »
Hi Yann,
 
You really have some good gear, we are jealous! I have no solution to your integration problem, but it strikes me that towfish depth could be measured with a depth sensing transducer that is mounted to the towfish, but directed towards the surface. The water-air boundary is very reflective so the surface should be easy to detect. Perhaps this is how towfish depth is sensed in some systems?
 
Rickard

Offline Rickard

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Luleå Sweden
  • Posts: 495
  • Unit(s): 999, 981, M37, LowBird-1, LowBird-2
Re: altimeter/depth gauge
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2013, 05:05:14 PM »
When a standard HB SI or HDSI transducer without cork cover is used with a towfish the surface appears clearly in both SI views. I think it's the same with some other towfish systems. Depth is about 30 m in the example below. Of course, range must be set to something longer than depth for this to be possible.
 
Rickard
 
 

Offline Jolly Roger

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Germany, Lake Constance
  • Posts: 801
  • HB Addicted
  • Unit(s): 998Cx SI
  • Software: latest (mostly)
  • Accessories: AS GR50, custom towfish and: A boat!!
Re: altimeter/depth gauge
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2013, 02:01:58 PM »
Well Yann,
you actually have the "depth sensor" right there in your fish. Just use it  ;) !
Here's how I get the depth of my fish when towing it:
I mounted a transducer switch and hooked up both the fish and the transom mount transducer. I switch back and forth between the two ducers. By doing so I just have to substract the fish reading from the transom mount transducer's reading. Then I have the depth the fish is at.

Regards/Harry
« Last Edit: May 29, 2013, 02:22:07 PM by Jolly Roger »
YES,......
WE SCAN!

Offline yvautrin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 3
Re: altimeter/depth gauge
« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2013, 01:11:34 AM »
Hi Guys,

First of all, thank you for your replies!

As I told before, I am new in using this technology, and your explanation appears to me to be in chinese language! ;)

Could you tell me in "basic terms" what I have to do? To my understanding, I do not need to "add" anything to My JW Fisher SSS?

Thanks a lot again for your help!


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
9 Replies
3305 Views
Last post March 29, 2010, 10:17:11 AM
by sonar2000
5 Replies
4531 Views
Last post April 06, 2010, 12:38:06 PM
by Chiboo
3 Replies
2064 Views
Last post July 12, 2010, 10:47:34 AM
by RGecy
7 Replies
3543 Views
Last post April 22, 2011, 08:04:47 AM
by Roddy
5 Replies
2164 Views
Last post July 17, 2012, 01:00:54 AM
by Rüdiger
9 Replies
4645 Views
Last post February 25, 2013, 11:24:17 AM
by Ken L
0 Replies
787 Views
Last post June 16, 2014, 03:12:45 PM
by Bradaus1
1 Replies
754 Views
Last post September 02, 2015, 01:10:47 PM
by rnvinc


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal