Author Topic: 999 Ci HD will not boot up  (Read 195 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bama stripes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Dec 2012
  • location: Southside, Alabama
  • Posts: 2
  • Unit(s): 999 Ci HD
999 Ci HD will not boot up
« on: July 30, 2017, 04:45:03 PM »
I have two 999 ci hd units. The one on the bow will not boot-up, it lights up,  shows the logo screen,  but locks up at that point.  I have to pull the plug in order to power down. I swapped out my other 999 and it works fine off the bow location .   I mounted the defective unit on my console,  and it would not work there either.  Any suggestions ? I  plan on calling HB tomorrow.


Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3088
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: 999 Ci HD will not boot up
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2017, 06:11:51 PM »
Remove any map cards and try booting again  ...

If that doesn't help- HB is the next step  ...

Rickie

Offline bama stripes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Dec 2012
  • location: Southside, Alabama
  • Posts: 2
  • Unit(s): 999 Ci HD
Re: 999 Ci HD will not boot up
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2017, 08:09:20 AM »
Took the map card out and she booted right up. Good call Rickie. Does this mean I have a bad map card ?

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3088
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: 999 Ci HD will not boot up
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2017, 06:41:36 PM »
Took the map card out and she booted right up. Good call Rickie. Does this mean I have a bad map card ?

Not necessarily  ... Try that same card in the other unit  ...

If that issue arises in the other unit - then the map card is suspect  ... then call the map card company  ...

This gremlin pops up in several forums occasionally and I don't think anyone has ever actually figured out what the gremlin is  ...except the thought that unit is trying to boot the operating system at the same time as loading the charts  ...

Rickie


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
6 Replies
3687 Views
Last post August 11, 2012, 08:19:34 PM
by Spinner
1 Replies
2257 Views
Last post July 23, 2012, 10:30:07 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
2 Replies
1431 Views
Last post August 11, 2014, 02:15:27 AM
by phb
0 Replies
636 Views
Last post May 16, 2013, 07:23:53 AM
by EZM
4 Replies
2640 Views
Last post June 14, 2013, 07:35:25 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
11 Replies
2404 Views
Last post April 15, 2015, 06:04:36 AM
by joemx1825
5 Replies
860 Views
Last post July 25, 2016, 04:56:23 PM
by fishreed
7 Replies
395 Views
Last post July 20, 2017, 06:54:56 PM
by rnvinc


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal