Author Topic: do research before you get a helix 9 SI CHIRP MEGA  (Read 797 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bobxxx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2011
  • location: Indiana
  • Posts: 78
  • Unit(s): 798 ci hd si .....priana max,helix 9 si
  • Software: 6.61,1.160
  • Accessories: AS GPS HS
do research before you get a helix 9 SI CHIRP MEGA
« on: April 05, 2018, 08:14:10 PM »
the 2D and temp from my expensive transducer and connected it to my hockey puck which was mounted on hull bttm,hence no temp. In short,Hummingbird took my $300 dollar transducer and since they couldn't make a compatible TS3 CABLE/WITH SWITCH,and disabled the 2d on my new transducer.
$1400 dollars and still no temp.I'm doing review to hopefully  safe some disappointments like I have gone thur.My initial setup was a HB 798 ci si with a hockey puck transducer for high speed used with a TS3 switch to switch transducers.I was very pleased with the setup.
I thought I did my research on a HELIX 9 SI MEGA unit.
I bought and hooked up my new unit,using my old transducer switch.Went out on lake and didn't have any down image.I called humminbird and they said my TS3 switch was not compatible,and I needed a Y cable 9 M SIDB Y .I purchased said cable,installed and went to lake.I got my down image back but now I didn't have any temp.It seems that to use a high speed transducer with their 9 m sidb y cable,they disconnected
I had a lot of praise for Hummingbird but after this fiasco,their designers just plain SUCK.
Thanks for reading

PS, I don't know how paragraphs got mixed up..sry

Bob
« Last Edit: April 06, 2018, 03:32:02 AM by bobxxx »


Offline ezfishn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jun 2013
  • location: CA
  • Posts: 44
  • Unit(s): 1198c SI, 998c HDSI
  • Software: 6.74, 6.74
Re: do research before you get a helix 9 SI CHIRP MEGA
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2018, 09:50:45 PM »
Which Digital readouts are you using (Overlay or Boxes)?  The new Y-cable referenced didn't functionally change from the older one.  It hardwires temp and imaging (SI/DI) from the SI transducer and sonar from the DualBeam transducer. 

Offline bobxxx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2011
  • location: Indiana
  • Posts: 78
  • Unit(s): 798 ci hd si .....priana max,helix 9 si
  • Software: 6.61,1.160
  • Accessories: AS GPS HS
Re: do research before you get a helix 9 SI CHIRP MEGA
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2018, 08:58:51 AM »
my readouts are the overlays..i've never used a y cable without a switch.Til now.

Offline bobxxx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2011
  • location: Indiana
  • Posts: 78
  • Unit(s): 798 ci hd si .....priana max,helix 9 si
  • Software: 6.61,1.160
  • Accessories: AS GPS HS
Re: do research before you get a helix 9 SI CHIRP MEGA
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2018, 09:03:54 AM »
I'm doing some rethinking.HB did tell me the temp and digital depth come off the
si transducer.going to look around some more
.

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3349
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: do research before you get a helix 9 SI CHIRP MEGA
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2018, 08:08:08 PM »
As ezfishn mentions - With the 9 M SIDB Y cable  ...:

*SI, DI, temp will come from the MEGA xducer  ...
*2d will come from the additional connected 2d xducer  ...

Try setting the readouts to boxes under the Setup tab  ... Then farther down in the Setup tab to Select Readouts and see if Temp is an option for 1 of the readouts  ...

Rickie

« Last Edit: April 06, 2018, 08:09:40 PM by rnvinc »

Offline bobxxx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2011
  • location: Indiana
  • Posts: 78
  • Unit(s): 798 ci hd si .....priana max,helix 9 si
  • Software: 6.61,1.160
  • Accessories: AS GPS HS
Re: do research before you get a helix 9 SI CHIRP MEGA
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2018, 10:35:13 AM »
I did all you suggested .the temp box was in the second menu in setup .after I saw that,I did
a defaults reset which I did twice before and I finally got a temp.I was in the garage and it was showing  the garage temp.we'll see what happens when I get in the water.
I'll call post resolved and thanks for your help.
I would still rather have a td switch .
Bob

Offline ezfishn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jun 2013
  • location: CA
  • Posts: 44
  • Unit(s): 1198c SI, 998c HDSI
  • Software: 6.74, 6.74
Re: do research before you get a helix 9 SI CHIRP MEGA
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2018, 10:48:43 AM »
Well that's kind of good news...LOL  If you use the Overlay instead of boxes then Temp is automatically shown as long as everything else is working correctly.  Good luck on the water.

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3349
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: do research before you get a helix 9 SI CHIRP MEGA
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2018, 08:21:22 PM »
The HB TS3 Switch was discontinued some time ago - I assume from low sales  ...

I doubt HB would revive it with a modification including the DI channel for MEGA units  ...

Rickie.


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
7 Replies
2010 Views
Last post April 18, 2017, 04:40:31 AM
by RivRunR
5 Replies
2159 Views
Last post October 04, 2017, 03:33:17 PM
by Stumpy
2 Replies
798 Views
Last post December 12, 2017, 07:23:55 PM
by Bob B
10 Replies
1418 Views
Last post April 26, 2018, 05:35:22 PM
by rnvinc
6 Replies
1273 Views
Last post March 26, 2018, 06:48:08 PM
by rnvinc
1 Replies
387 Views
Last post July 10, 2018, 11:02:23 AM
by marknfish
4 Replies
428 Views
Last post June 16, 2018, 10:53:20 AM
by sfw1960
3 Replies
128 Views
Last post July 08, 2018, 04:55:55 PM
by rnvinc


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal