Author Topic: 898 Transducer not registering  (Read 1200 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dazzastacklebox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Nov 2010
  • location: Saunders Beach,Townsville,Australia
  • Posts: 5
  • Unit(s): 898C SI
  • Software: Not Yet
898 Transducer not registering
« on: September 29, 2016, 02:23:09 AM »
Hi Folks,
I have an 898C si I bought and has been running great since 2010. Just the last week it has started not reading depths and now won't even recognise the transducer, see photo below.

I have restored to default settings and updated to 6.49.

I have bought a new one which should have next week.

Has anyone had anything similar? and know what causes it?

cheers,

Darryl


Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3325
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: 898 Transducer not registering
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2016, 09:56:36 PM »
Xducers do go bad ...(some even brand new) ...

Can you test the xducer on someone else's head unit ... ??

Rickie

Offline dazzastacklebox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Nov 2010
  • location: Saunders Beach,Townsville,Australia
  • Posts: 5
  • Unit(s): 898C SI
  • Software: Not Yet
Re: 898 Transducer not registering
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2016, 05:25:29 PM »
  I took the boat out on the weekend,  the Side imaging and down imaging was still working normal, just nothing on the depth numerical indicator on the left and nothing on the color sonar view??

Will see if I can track someone local down to try my head unit on theirs,

cheers,

Dazz

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3325
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: 898 Transducer not registering
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2016, 05:37:43 PM »
Remove the connector from the back of the unit and check that the pin #6 for 2d is still intact ...



You can also try bending the pins slightly to try and create more contact between the pins and their respective sockets ...

Don't bend too much because they break easily ...

Rickie

Offline dazzastacklebox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Nov 2010
  • location: Saunders Beach,Townsville,Australia
  • Posts: 5
  • Unit(s): 898C SI
  • Software: Not Yet
Re: 898 Transducer not registering
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2016, 05:58:01 PM »
Legend!  Will check it out.

thanks

Offline Spd 135

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Oct 2014
  • location: Slidell, Louisiana
  • Posts: 119
  • Unit(s): 898c si 997c SI Helix 12
  • Software: All Current
  • Accessories: 360
Re: 898 Transducer not registering
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2016, 07:04:20 PM »
Do you have a 360?  Your screenshot looks as though you do.  If you do then I think I know the problem.  Go to the second menu and then to the far right where your 360 settings are.  In that will be a list.  In that list you have to select the regular transducer to side imaging.  When you install a 360 is defaults the 360 for side imaging.  Mark


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
7 Replies
5321 Views
Last post February 10, 2010, 09:11:32 PM
by Sonshine Fishing
7 Replies
5668 Views
Last post July 12, 2011, 08:41:52 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
1 Replies
3109 Views
Last post May 31, 2012, 09:07:47 PM
by Brian37075
2 Replies
2790 Views
Last post January 09, 2013, 12:34:14 PM
by jgcox6
3 Replies
1764 Views
Last post November 08, 2013, 08:10:55 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
6 Replies
3103 Views
Last post April 14, 2014, 01:24:31 PM
by bobcoy
5 Replies
1224 Views
Last post October 22, 2015, 09:03:12 AM
by Bob B
4 Replies
1307 Views
Last post September 27, 2016, 12:40:27 PM
by Mukwah


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal