Author Topic: Transducer problem?**** UPDATED ****  (Read 11097 times)

Offline Wingnutt

• Unit(s): 798CI HD SI
Transducer problem?**** UPDATED ****
« on: June 10, 2011, 01:47:47 PM »
Hello everyone, great site you have here!

I am a side imaging newbie and I'm having an intermittent problem that I'm hoping someone may be able to help me out with.  The problem is with the left side image partially dropping out sometimes

Exactly the same as this problem Re: Dark picture on left side of SI

It happens about 50% of the time...When it's not acting up, it works fine.

There is no blockage from the engine or other items on the transom (sorry, I didn't take any pictures of it before launching the boat for the season).  The engine would be close  to blocking it if it were down, but I never run with it trimmed down all the way... usually have it trimmed half way up because that's where I get the best ride.  I've checked a lot of others' installation pics and I believe mine is alright (no blockage left/right, angle correct, split line of the transducer below the hull, and not near the motor).  I checked for loose connections at the head and made sure the transducer was secure in the mounting bracket of the transom.

I called Humminbird support and they thought it was probably the transducer and sent me a new one.  I don't mind pulling the boat once to fix it, but I'd really like to avoid doing it twice.  Is it reasonable to mount the new transducer on a pole temporarily to make sure it works without routing the wire?  I figured I'd be able to get the unit deeper that way and if it happens after I put it in the permanent bracket, I know I could have a mounting/V-hull issue.

If I do have an issue with the hull type, can I mount the second transducer on the port side of the boat and connect it with a “Y” cable?  I didn't know if it requires a different type of transducer?