Author Topic: Map in HumViewer?  (Read 9516 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline john h

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jun 2009
  • location: Australia
  • Posts: 29
  • Unit(s): 798cxi
Map in HumViewer?
« on: July 05, 2009, 12:00:00 AM »
Is it possible to display a map in the 2D trackplot in HumViewer?

It would be great to load up my Navionics Chart in that window so i can see where the recording is.


Offline Jolly Roger

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Germany, Lake Constance
  • Posts: 801
  • HB Addicted
  • Unit(s): 998Cx SI
  • Software: latest (mostly)
  • Accessories: AS GR50, custom towfish and: A boat!!
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2009, 12:44:15 AM »
Good idea John,
I was thinking about this as well.
Displaying the location where the record was made in Google Earth is also OK, but I'd rather see this on a "real" map.

Regards
Harry
YES,......
WE SCAN!

Offline mrj9600

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Denmark
  • Posts: 163
    • Home of HumViewer
  • Unit(s): 997C SI
  • Software: 6.300
  • Accessories: Speed sensor
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2009, 03:30:10 AM »
Is it possible to display a map in the 2D trackplot in HumViewer?
It would be great to load up my Navionics Chart in that window so i can see where the recording is.

Hi John
It is a great idea, but I have no idea if it is possible to embed the navionics chart into my program. Have anyone seen programs that have embedded the navionics charts in their program (other than Navionics own NavPlanner program) ?

/Martin

Offline john h

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jun 2009
  • location: Australia
  • Posts: 29
  • Unit(s): 798cxi
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2009, 12:25:12 AM »
Hi Martin,

Here are a few other programs that I found via Google that use Navionics Charts:

http://www.fugawi.com
http://www.pcplotter.com
http://www.tiki-navigator.com

If it is possible, it would be great.  Even if you can import your own charts into HumViewer, like OziExplorer does, that would be good.

Offline Chiboo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2009
  • location: Saratov rg.
  • Posts: 81
  • SpearFishing
  • Unit(s): 1197cx SI Combo
  • Software: 4.950
  • Accessories: CF-19, AS BP
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2009, 12:41:48 AM »
Not all is simple with cards Navionics. For reading of these cards on PC it is necessary hardware cardreader from Navionics.

Offline Timo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Finland
  • Posts: 36
  • Unit(s): 798ci SI
  • Software: 4.780
  • Accessories: XHS-9-HDSI-180-T Transducer
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2009, 02:38:35 AM »
How about displaying OziExplorer .OZFx3 maps in the 2D trackplot in HumViewer? Could that be possible?

-timo

Offline keizerh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Wildervank
  • Posts: 201
  • Unit(s): none
  • Accessories: ASHH and VC cable
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2009, 10:34:50 AM »
Or use the possibility to scan or import bitmaps charts and calibrate them in humviewer.

Hendrik 

Offline RGecy

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Beaufort, SC
  • Posts: 1980
    • SideImagingSoft.com
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI, 997c SI & 785c2
  • Software: 4.950 & 4.510
  • Accessories: Interlink & GRHA
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2009, 12:05:37 PM »
I have talked with Navionics and Maptech about using their product in my software.  It is very expensive for software that is free!

Robert  
« Last Edit: July 06, 2009, 12:07:40 PM by RGecy »
Humminbird Guru and Forum Administrator

Offline john h

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jun 2009
  • location: Australia
  • Posts: 29
  • Unit(s): 798cxi
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2009, 12:51:55 AM »
You would think the map companies would make it easy for software developers to use their products? 

After all, more options to use the maps would promote more sales of maps.

Offline john h

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jun 2009
  • location: Australia
  • Posts: 29
  • Unit(s): 798cxi
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2009, 01:30:07 AM »
oh, and I might add, I would be happy to pay for Humviewer if it included the ability to include Navionics charts.  I'm currently considering purchasing Fugawi marine ENC which is about $300USD delivered with a Navionics card reader.

Offline mrj9600

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Denmark
  • Posts: 163
    • Home of HumViewer
  • Unit(s): 997C SI
  • Software: 6.300
  • Accessories: Speed sensor
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2009, 01:39:33 AM »
Hi all
I will try to sum up my opinion on all your comments on this issue.

As a few of you have already mentioned it is not possible to use Navionics charts for free in my program (and everybody must buy a card reader), so that solution is not an option for me.

Regarding the use of OziExplorer .ozfx3 maps; I have no idea how those maps are done, and I dont want to 'crack' the file format. Also I dont what to make my program dependant on a commersial product.

I think the best solution is to include an option to use an image file as background map. It will only support maps with latitude/longitude lines as straight lines (I dont know the official name of that kind of projection) as this will be the easiest map type to calibrate. I know that e.g. OziExplorer supports other projections (e.g conic project), but my purpose with the HumViewer program is not to create a mapping program so I will keep this part as simple as possible.

I will put this function on my wish list, but I cannot promise if/when I will implement and release a version with this function included.

/Martin

Offline john h

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jun 2009
  • location: Australia
  • Posts: 29
  • Unit(s): 798cxi
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2009, 02:06:22 AM »
No worries Martin, I understand your position.

The image file would work fine I think. 

Is it possible to perhaps embed Google Earth in the program or use Google Earth to automatically provide the image file?  I saw a program called Stitch Maps that grabs images from Google Earth and joins them to make a complete map.  Just an idea to throw around.

Offline mrj9600

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Denmark
  • Posts: 163
    • Home of HumViewer
  • Unit(s): 997C SI
  • Software: 6.300
  • Accessories: Speed sensor
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2009, 02:31:01 AM »
Is it possible to perhaps embed Google Earth in the program or use Google Earth to automatically provide the image file?  I saw a program called Stitch Maps that grabs images from Google Earth and joins them to make a complete map.  Just an idea to throw around.


Hi John
I have actually already been trying to embed Google Earth into my program, but until now without any luck. This is the one thing where it would have been better NOT using java  ???, but I have not given up yet...

Google Earth would be good for many things, but one disadvantage with it is that there is no depth information on their maps.
/Martin

Offline keizerh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Wildervank
  • Posts: 201
  • Unit(s): none
  • Accessories: ASHH and VC cable
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #13 on: July 07, 2009, 09:35:10 AM »
Maybe standard bitmaps? Over even scan and calibrate paper WGS84 maps to bitmaps and import them in humviewer.
Stentec.nl does this with wingps (dkwbuilder)

hendrik

Offline sulbig

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jun 2009
  • location: Waco, TX
  • Posts: 3
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #14 on: July 11, 2009, 02:51:58 PM »
Look into this...

http://code.google.com/apis/maps/documentation/staticmaps/

"The Google Static Maps API lets you embed a Google Maps image on your webpage without requiring JavaScript or any dynamic page loading. The Google Static Map service creates your map based on URL parameters sent through a standard HTTP request and returns the map as an image you can display on your web page."


Offline sulbig

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jun 2009
  • location: Waco, TX
  • Posts: 3
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #15 on: July 11, 2009, 02:57:06 PM »
Just to clarify my previous post, it may be possible make an http request to Google and get a map image in response that you can paint in the background. I'm thinking a "web" page is not required to use the Google Static Maps API -- that is just the normal Google audience they are catering too.

Offline mrj9600

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Denmark
  • Posts: 163
    • Home of HumViewer
  • Unit(s): 997C SI
  • Software: 6.300
  • Accessories: Speed sensor
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #16 on: July 12, 2009, 01:33:20 AM »
Hi Sulbig
Thanks, I will take a look at it.

/Martin

Offline pebe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Germany
  • Posts: 34
  • Unit(s): HB 798ci SI
  • Software: 5.450
  • Accessories: AS-GR-HA
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #17 on: August 27, 2009, 02:25:15 PM »
Any new Informations in this case ?

having a own map in the tracking window would be very good.
Also more Inforamtions would be nice,
like North/South/... viewscale in meters to estimate the dimension of the track.

I use seaclear/mapcal to bring and use Positioning Information into Pictures.

Offline mrj9600

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Denmark
  • Posts: 163
    • Home of HumViewer
  • Unit(s): 997C SI
  • Software: 6.300
  • Accessories: Speed sensor
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #18 on: September 15, 2009, 07:56:13 AM »
I have done a little progress, and I am quite sure that I can get it to show google maps as background. But it will take some more programming and testing to get it working.

/Martin

Offline Moose1am

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • location: Southern IN
  • Posts: 190
  • Unit(s): 898c si
  • Software: 6.610
  • Accessories: SDHC 8 GB SanDisk Extreme III
Re: Map in HumViewer?
« Reply #19 on: May 08, 2012, 06:56:44 AM »
Those mapping companies want an arm and a leg and your first born baby for their mapping data. It's a shame that they are so selfish and greedy. 
And to add insult to injury their maps are not that accurate.  I've found their maps to be inaccurate in many spots that I have tried to fish using their data.  There is a reason why they put a disclaimer right up front when you buy their map data. I have the Navionics Eastern Platinum Map from 2010 and checked it out for KY Lake and Patoka Lake.  I was not that happy with the map data. But I'm much more particular about GiS data. I must be accurate to within a meter to please me.

I have talked with Navionics and Maptech about using their product in my software.  It is very expensive for software that is free!

Robert 
Regards,

Moose1am


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
1 Replies
2137 Views
Last post October 09, 2013, 11:48:39 PM
by xSilmarilSx
Humviewer

Started by BrazosRiverTom General Discussion

6 Replies
1994 Views
Last post February 21, 2015, 09:17:06 PM
by Bob B
3 Replies
1429 Views
Last post May 17, 2015, 06:50:10 PM
by Bayou Basser
2 Replies
702 Views
Last post February 11, 2017, 11:06:15 AM
by Bayou Basser
1 Replies
685 Views
Last post February 24, 2017, 12:17:22 PM
by Bob B
2 Replies
1156 Views
Last post April 02, 2017, 02:14:41 PM
by rstell47
6 Replies
717 Views
Last post December 28, 2017, 07:34:29 PM
by rnvinc
1 Replies
276 Views
Last post June 27, 2018, 02:55:06 PM
by rnvinc


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal