Author Topic: GPS in US HB products  (Read 4486 times)

Offline yaro

• Unit(s): 798ci SI
GPS in US HB products
« on: August 22, 2010, 04:51:03 PM »

Hi all!
I'm new to GPS and sonars and I've found this forum very helpfull but still have few questions.

On one of the posts I've read that HB products with GPS functions purchased in US do not allow for time zones to be reset outside of the US time zones and that this will affect it ability to acquire satellites outside US.

Could someone explain to me what does it exactly mean? Will the unit simply take longer to acquire the position or will it be impossible to connect at all?

I'm living in Ireland and I'm going to buy 798ci SI for lake fishing. There is huge difference in price between US and Europe so I was hoping to buy one from US since I have a family there.

Thanks for any info!

Raf

Offline sonar2000

• Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: GPS in US HB products
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2010, 05:57:46 PM »
You are right on that the US products only have time zones 4 thru 9.  This covers the atlantic ocean east of the US and extends to Hawaii.
Now I dont know if the GPS will sync with the visible satelites or not. If they eventually do then the time shown on the display may be incorrect.
Does any one have a US unit in europe that is a US model and can let us know what they see.
If you have a US unit what does the diag screen show when you turn on the unit.
Greg, this might be a good question for you to respond to.
Robert what do you have on this also?

Chuck

Offline Humminbird_Greg

• Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2010, 03:48:25 PM »
Officially I am supposed to urge you to buy your unit from your local Humminbird dealer, so… urge, urge.