Author Topic: helix 7 chirp si gps g2n nav (not saving waypoints - not updating) HELP  (Read 477 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tiago

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2022
  • Posts: 7
  • Unit(s): helix 7 si chirp g2n
hi, i have a helix 7 chirp si gps g2n nav with software version 1.540 and i tryed to update following every single step mensioned at humminbird website, but after the suposed update my unit restart at the same software version (1.540) and ask to update again and again and again. 
after many attempts to update with different cards and software download i gave up and decided to stay with version 1.540, but now I AM HAVING A NEW PROBLEM: my unit does not save the waypoints. every time i turn the unit off the waypoints get missed.
i restored to factory configuration and the promem continues.
Can someone help me please?
(sorry for my poor english, i am from Brasil)


Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 4168
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, SOLIX G2 MSI
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, MEGA 360, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Are you importing previously saved waypoints from a SD Card  ... ??

Rickie

Offline tiago

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2022
  • Posts: 7
  • Unit(s): helix 7 si chirp g2n
Hi! Thanks for your answers!
I tryed to import some waypoint from a micro sd card and it worked fine until a turn off the unit. After i turn off the way points got missed, and when i tryed to add a new waypoint  i got the next number ( for exemple: i missed 100 waypoints and when i add my new “first” the number comes 101) .
So i deleted all waypoints at the “waypoints and routes” tab and selected ERASE them all, an them it was possible to add the first waypoint with number 001 and second as 002 etc but when i turn off the unit i loose everything again.  Getting crazy here…

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 4168
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, SOLIX G2 MSI
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, MEGA 360, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
*Remove the SD Card ...
*Under the Setup tab cursor down to “User Mode” and change it to Advanced  ...
*Then also under the Setup tab cursor down to “Format Nav Data” ...
*Right cursor to activate the function  ...
*Then also under the Setup tab cursor to Restore Defaults  ...
*Right cursor to activate function  ...

* Create a new waypoint by pressing the Mark button  ...

*Power the unit off and back on  ...

*Press Menu twice to get into the main Menu system  ...
*Cursor over to the Nav tab  ...
*Cursor down to “Waypoints Routes Tracks”  ...
*Right cursor to open waypoint management  ...

Is the new waypoint listed in the left pane ??

Rickie

Offline tiago

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2022
  • Posts: 7
  • Unit(s): helix 7 si chirp g2n
Thanks a lot agains for your help, my friend.
But still does not work.
I did exactly like this instructions but after restore defaults i was unable to MARK a waypoint (having double beep sound when pressing the Mark button without waypoint creation) until i shutt off and turn on again the unit and fill the quick setup page (with language, max depth, water type, connected transducer).

So after this it was possible to MARK a way point (for my surprise, even after all that resets, restores, the number of the waypoint appeared as 184, and after shutt off again the way point desapeared again.


I DID EVERY THING AGAIN but this way cresting a new way point (185) and selecting the tab nav and asking to erase all.

After that it was possible to add the 001 way point , but even doing all over again the waypoint is still getting missed.

I still do not know why my waypoints are not getting saved at the internal memory.

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 4168
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, SOLIX G2 MSI
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, MEGA 360, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
You might think about updating the software  ...

https://www.humminbird.com/support/software-updates

Rickie

Offline tiago

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2022
  • Posts: 7
  • Unit(s): helix 7 si chirp g2n
Hi Rickie, i dif every single step listed at humminbird update page. Twice. With different downloads and Sd Cards.
I got the old loop. After updating the unit ask if i want to to do the update (again like i have never tryed yet)
The version of software stays the same old (1.540) and its still impossible to save waypoints at the unit. If i turn off , they all disappears.

Getting crazy here.
Any idea?
(Sorry for the mistakes, english is not my first language)

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 4168
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, SOLIX G2 MSI
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, MEGA 360, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
If the correct software for your exact unit was on the SD Card - there should have been a popup that says “Update software from x.xxx to y.yyy” with a “Yes” or “No” option  ...

Did you see this popup when the SD Card was inserted  ...

Rickie

Offline tiago

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2022
  • Posts: 7
  • Unit(s): helix 7 si chirp g2n
Yes my friend! Thanks agais and again for your attention!!!  You are amazing Rickie!

After choose “yes” for update and “no” for abbort the update begins. I got about only 2 seconds of red/yellow page  during update and them the unit reboot. At the new start i got the pop up asking me for the same update that i already “did”.

I am sure that is the correct software for this model and i tryed with 3 different Sd cards and 2 different downloads.

I really do not know why its not beeing updated.

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 4168
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, SOLIX G2 MSI
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, MEGA 360, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Did you format the SD Card before downloading the software from the Humminbird website  ... ??

Is the SD Card 32gb or less ... ??

Rickie

Offline tiago

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2022
  • Posts: 7
  • Unit(s): helix 7 si chirp g2n
Re: helix 7 chirp si gps g2n nav (not saving waypoints - not updating) HELP
« Reply #10 on: April 27, 2022, 07:50:52 PM »
Yes. I formated them fat 32.
I used 3 diferent SD. 2 of them were class 10 and 32 GB or less, and one was not class 10, but i got the same loop.   Holding my tears here kkkkk

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 4168
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, SOLIX G2 MSI
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, MEGA 360, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: helix 7 chirp si gps g2n nav (not saving waypoints - not updating) HELP
« Reply #11 on: April 28, 2022, 10:41:17 PM »
We definitely have a gremlin here Tiago  ...

If you tried updating in Normal mode  ...try updating in Simulator mode  ...
If you tried updating in Simulator mode ...try updating in Normal mode  ...

When updating in Normal mode disconnect every cable except power and transducer to eliminate variables  ...

Rickie

Offline tiago

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2022
  • Posts: 7
  • Unit(s): helix 7 si chirp g2n
Re: helix 7 chirp si gps g2n nav (not saving waypoints - not updating) HELP
« Reply #12 on: April 28, 2022, 11:02:00 PM »
Wow! Everytime i tryed to update i did without transducer. Only with power cable attached. Does it make difference????  Next tine i will try connected.

I have never tryed in simulator mode. I will do it too as soon as possible and will come back here to report what happened.

Thank you again and again Rickie!!! !!!

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 4168
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, SOLIX G2 MSI
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, MEGA 360, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: helix 7 chirp si gps g2n nav (not saving waypoints - not updating) HELP
« Reply #13 on: April 29, 2022, 11:52:52 PM »
Wow! Everytime i tryed to update i did without transducer. Only with power cable attached. Does it make difference????  Next tine i will try connected.

I have never tryed in simulator mode. I will do it too as soon as possible and will come back here to report what happened.

Thank you again and again Rickie!!! !!!

I’m not sure it really makes a difference in normal situations  ...

Your gremlin has me throwing alternate ideas to get something to work for you  ...

Rickie


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
3545 Views
Last post March 09, 2014, 11:34:21 AM
by bgump24
3 Replies
2903 Views
Last post April 22, 2014, 05:25:34 AM
by slabbacks
4 Replies
4222 Views
Last post September 16, 2014, 09:56:27 AM
by Sawyer
8 Replies
4144 Views
Last post November 21, 2014, 11:39:39 AM
by Bayou Basser
3 Replies
1980 Views
Last post January 26, 2015, 08:35:03 AM
by bobcoy
5 Replies
4909 Views
Last post April 09, 2016, 09:42:21 AM
by nwkramer
2 Replies
5749 Views
Last post December 12, 2017, 09:23:55 PM
by Bob B
10 Replies
5685 Views
Last post October 27, 2019, 04:49:01 AM
by reso


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal