Author Topic: 797c2 SI - Interlink- 997c SI  (Read 3441 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bruyle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2014
  • location: United States
  • Posts: 7
  • Unit(s): 797c2 SI & 997c SI
  • Software: 5.450 & 5.840
  • Accessories: Interlink
797c2 SI - Interlink- 997c SI
« on: April 22, 2014, 06:10:30 AM »
Updated 797c2SI to 5.450, received message "The software on this 797 is not compatible with software of connected interlink.  You must upgrade the other unit to use the interlink" 

At same time updated 997CSI to 6.300, not knowing that both units must have the same upgrade version to interlink.  HB Customer Service provided software to reduce 997 to 5.840.  Installed 5.840 and everything appears OK with 997, except accessory menu does not recognize the interlink. 

Is there a fix for these issues?


Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: 797c2 SI - Interlink- 997c SI
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2014, 08:42:01 AM »
Welcome to the Humminbird Side Imaging Forums bruyle.

You may have to go back and reset the InterLink but first try something easier: try switching which port the units are plugged into on the InterLink.

If that does not help you should try resetting the InterLink using this procedure:
http://www.humminbird.com/Category/Support/FAQ/InterlinkChangeOutsideNetwork/
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline bruyle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2014
  • location: United States
  • Posts: 7
  • Unit(s): 797c2 SI & 997c SI
  • Software: 5.450 & 5.840
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: 797c2 SI - Interlink- 997c SI
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2014, 11:46:31 AM »
Greg, where would I find the interlink menu on the 997? Unable to find any reference to the interlink within the menu.

The status screen says the it is unconnected on both units.  No acknowledgement of the interlink on either unit accessory tab.

Tried changing the ports, no change.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2014, 12:02:08 PM by bruyle »

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: 797c2 SI - Interlink- 997c SI
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2014, 12:02:51 PM »
bruyle,
Unless the 997 unit recognizes the InterLink as connected it will not show any InterLink related menus or data.

Did you try swapping the cables around?
Have you tried to reset the InterLink yet?
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline bruyle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2014
  • location: United States
  • Posts: 7
  • Unit(s): 797c2 SI & 997c SI
  • Software: 5.450 & 5.840
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: 797c2 SI - Interlink- 997c SI
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2014, 12:11:33 PM »
Swapped the portals and had no change.

In the link you sent it says to go into the interlink menu.  There is no interlink menu on the unit.

Have had no interlink menu since the original updates were made.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2014, 12:19:34 PM by bruyle »

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: 797c2 SI - Interlink- 997c SI
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2014, 12:18:55 PM »
I was hoping that swapping the connections around would let you in by at least one of the units.  I think at this point you will need to call the Humminbird Customer resource folks and possibly send in your InterLink module.  You can try saving the Nav Data (Waypoints, Routes and Tracks) and deleting the Nav data from each unit (using the “Format Nav Directories” found under the Set-up menu tab would work better) and try reconnecting them again.  Be sure and try each unit by itself to see if that makes a difference or not.
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline bruyle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2014
  • location: United States
  • Posts: 7
  • Unit(s): 797c2 SI & 997c SI
  • Software: 5.450 & 5.840
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: 797c2 SI - Interlink- 997c SI
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2014, 05:09:45 PM »
Returned the original interlink as suggested by HB.  Received the new interlink, hooked cables.  The 797 c2SI, ver 5.45 connected and communicated with the interlink. Shows as connected on the status screen and appears on the accessory tab.  Everything appears to be good.

The 997CSI, ver 5.84 did not connect to the interlink and shows unconnected on the status screen, does not appear on the accessory tab.  Not sure why, but waypoints are duplicated on this unit and no tab is provided to download waypoints to another storage device.

Have switched connections and had no change.  Does the different version number make a difference?  Any suggestions?

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: 797c2 SI - Interlink- 997c SI
« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2014, 08:31:53 AM »
Those software versions should work together.
You may need to reset both units and the InterLink:
- Save the Nav Data off of each unit to your computer by using a memory card and the HumminbirdPC software. 
- Use the Delete All Nav Data menu on both units.

If that does not work, you may have some phantom Nav Data, so try this:
http://www.humminbird.com/Category/Support/FAQ/InterlinkPhantomWaypoints/
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline bruyle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2014
  • location: United States
  • Posts: 7
  • Unit(s): 797c2 SI & 997c SI
  • Software: 5.450 & 5.840
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: 797c2 SI - Interlink- 997c SI
« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2014, 05:55:58 PM »
Deleted the waypoints off of each unit, then reinstalled.  Both units show waypoints. 

Tried the phantom waypoint routine.  the 797 unit seems to be as it should be.  The 997 unit still does not acknowledge the
interlink in the accessories tab.

I took the 997 unit from 6.300 back to 5.840.  Would this have any bearing on the interlink recognition by the 997?

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: 797c2 SI - Interlink- 997c SI
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2014, 07:45:24 AM »
It could if the InterLink was connected to the 997 unit when it had the 6.300 software.

“Deleted the waypoints off of each unit, then reinstalled.  Both units show waypoints.”
What are you meaning here?  If you deleted all the waypoints off of each unit they should not be showing any waypoints.
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline bruyle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2014
  • location: United States
  • Posts: 7
  • Unit(s): 797c2 SI & 997c SI
  • Software: 5.450 & 5.840
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: 797c2 SI - Interlink- 997c SI
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2014, 10:26:26 AM »
Per suggestion in reply #7, I saved the waypoints to a memory card, deleted all Nav Data on both units, then reinstalled the original waypoints.

The 997 was hooked to the interlink when the unit was updated to 6.300.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2014, 10:29:18 AM by bruyle »

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: 797c2 SI - Interlink- 997c SI
« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2014, 12:10:54 PM »
Try it without any Nav Data in either unit or the InterLink.
With 797c2 Si unit erase the Nav Data that is in the InterLink.

If that doesn’t do it you will need to contact the Humminbird Customer Resource folks.
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline bruyle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2014
  • location: United States
  • Posts: 7
  • Unit(s): 797c2 SI & 997c SI
  • Software: 5.450 & 5.840
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: 797c2 SI - Interlink- 997c SI
« Reply #12 on: May 11, 2014, 12:20:17 PM »
Is it possible to connect the units together by Ethernet Cable?

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: 797c2 SI - Interlink- 997c SI
« Reply #13 on: May 12, 2014, 10:01:42 AM »
No they cannot bruyle neither unit has an Ethernet connection.
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
1 Replies
1941 Views
Last post January 15, 2010, 02:41:19 AM
by Jolly Roger
2 Replies
1602 Views
Last post March 12, 2010, 02:02:44 PM
by soretoe
5 Replies
5276 Views
Last post January 28, 2011, 11:15:49 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
3 Replies
1639 Views
Last post February 17, 2011, 07:36:18 AM
by panman_va
12 Replies
4240 Views
Last post February 03, 2012, 06:35:00 AM
by sonar2000
4 Replies
2831 Views
Last post April 15, 2013, 09:20:06 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
6 Replies
1479 Views
Last post March 29, 2017, 06:11:09 PM
by rnvinc
1 Replies
345 Views
Last post November 24, 2017, 08:34:53 PM
by rnvinc


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal