Author Topic: Interlink 997C with 955C problem.  (Read 4237 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline w2f4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jan 2012
  • location: toms river, nj
  • Posts: 18
  • Unit(s): 955c, 997c
Interlink 997C with 955C problem.
« on: January 22, 2012, 10:12:33 PM »

The plan is to run a new2me 997C next to my existing 955C chart plotter.
View only sonar on the 997C, and only GPS on the 955C.
When using side scan, could mark on the 997C and send the waypoint to the 955C via InterLink.

Ran into a problem setting up these 2 head units with Interlink Module.
Searched this site for procedures, found and followed this info from Greg –
http://forums.sideimagingsoft.com/index.php?topic=3216.0

Unit 1 being the 955C, with latest release 4.950
Unit 2 being the 997C, with latest release 5.840

With only unit 1 (955C) connected for starters – auto reprogramming of interlink module successful. Could see the interlink in accessories menu, no saved nav data as expected.
Then when connecting unit 2 (997C), message – “The software on this 997 is not compatible with the software on the connected InterLink. You must upgrade the other unit to use the InterLink”.

Would greatly appreciate advise on how this could be resolved.

Thanks





Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Interlink 997C with 955C problem.
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2012, 08:04:16 AM »
Just curious...
why even interlink them. If you want sonar on one and charting/mapping on the other just run them as single installs.
We do this on one of our sonar boats so the sonar operator can concentrate on the scan and the boat driver can concentrate on where he is driving so a grid search can be tightly run..


Chuck

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Interlink 997C with 955C problem.
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2012, 08:08:42 AM »
Ah...just reread your post.  I see now the GPS crossover.  for our purpose we just manually mark but I see now you may have more information to cross over.  There are a couple of posts on interlink connecting.
What you might consider is the ethernet connection as it get working.

Might be cheaper that way also..

Chuck

Offline w2f4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jan 2012
  • location: toms river, nj
  • Posts: 18
  • Unit(s): 955c, 997c
Re: Interlink 997C with 955C problem.
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2012, 09:50:53 PM »
Ah...just reread your post.  I see now the GPS crossover.  for our purpose we just manually mark but I see now you may have more information to cross over.  There are a couple of posts on interlink connecting.
What you might consider is the ethernet connection as it get working.

Might be cheaper that way also..

Chuck


Thanks for your comments Chuck.
Unfortunately the 997C ad 955C models don't have an ethernet port.
From the info I received, only method is the InterLink module via the comm ports.
I already purchased a new InterLink, so i'm determined to get it setup properly.

« Last Edit: January 23, 2012, 09:54:52 PM by w2f4 »

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Interlink 997C with 955C problem.
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2012, 07:20:16 AM »
OK, look on this forum for interlink and you should gets some hits for connection issues.

Chuck

Offline panman_va

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2009
  • location: Gloucester, VA USA
  • Posts: 27
  • Unit(s): 997C, 858C
  • Software: 997 5.45, 858 5.50
  • Accessories: Interlink, XM Weather
Re: Interlink 997C with 955C problem.
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2012, 12:07:37 PM »
Update the software on your 955C to version 5.xxx if it is available. 4.xxx and 5.xxx software are not compatible with Interlink.
Keith

Offline w2f4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jan 2012
  • location: toms river, nj
  • Posts: 18
  • Unit(s): 955c, 997c
Re: Interlink 997C with 955C problem.
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2012, 05:05:06 PM »
Thanks for the suggestion Keith.
Latest SW version listed on HB site and installed on my 955C is 4.950.
I emailed HB customer service wed, for fyi I'll follow up here with their reply / solution.

Offline panman_va

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2009
  • location: Gloucester, VA USA
  • Posts: 27
  • Unit(s): 997C, 858C
  • Software: 997 5.45, 858 5.50
  • Accessories: Interlink, XM Weather
Re: Interlink 997C with 955C problem.
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2012, 07:26:07 PM »
You may have to put an older 4.xxx version on your 997.  HB customer support should be able to tell you if the two units can be Interlinked and email the version of software you need. They were very helpful when I was working through communication issues between my 997 and 858.
Keith

Offline w2f4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jan 2012
  • location: toms river, nj
  • Posts: 18
  • Unit(s): 955c, 997c
Re: Interlink 997C with 955C problem.
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2012, 08:44:23 PM »
You may have to put an older 4.xxx version on your 997.  HB customer support should be able to tell you if the two units can be Interlinked and email the version of software you need. They were very helpful when I was working through communication issues between my 997 and 858.

Keith,

You're spot on - that was HB suport's recommendation.
Back down the release on the 997 to 4.995, for which they sent me the install file.
I have no idea what newer functionality and fixes I would loose reverting from 5.840 to 4.995 - DI? Switchfire? bug fixes?
So now i have to reconsider - is the interlink worth going backwards vs keeping the units isolated and fully updated, and manually driving back over the 997C SI waypoint, and then marking on the 955C.



Offline panman_va

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2009
  • location: Gloucester, VA USA
  • Posts: 27
  • Unit(s): 997C, 858C
  • Software: 997 5.45, 858 5.50
  • Accessories: Interlink, XM Weather
Re: Interlink 997C with 955C problem.
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2012, 08:36:01 AM »
There may be another option for getting waypoints from the 997 to the 955. Use an SD card on the 997 to export all nav data. This will create a data.hwr file in the Matrix folder on the SD card. If the 955 uses the same folder and file structure, just put the SD card in it and it will read the file and load the waypoints into memory.
Keith

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Interlink 997C with 955C problem.
« Reply #10 on: February 01, 2012, 11:48:46 AM »
Late to the party here…
What Keith has said is 100% correct – even to his solution of the SD memory card.  As long as you do not rename the files on your 955 unit it will only load the new waypoints you mark with your 997 unit.  Of course this would entail opening the memory card doors on both units while you are on the water… that is if you want to share the waypoints ‘live’ or as close to it as you can get without downgrading the software in your 997 unit.

Something that may not have been mentioned about downgrading the software in your units: if you downgrade to a software older than what the unit was originally built with you could render it inoperable.  Sometimes we have to use substitute components in the units that require a change to the software and using an older software may make the unit not work.  If you want to explore the software downgrade option; send me your serial number and I will check and see what version software it was originally built with and if it should be safe to load that 4.950 software.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline w2f4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jan 2012
  • location: toms river, nj
  • Posts: 18
  • Unit(s): 955c, 997c
Re: Interlink 997C with 955C problem.
« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2012, 09:28:55 PM »
Thanks to all for the info and advice.

I don't want to down grade the 997c with older software.
So going to abandon the interlink plan.
When i get out on the water in april/may and put the electronics into action,
especially the new2me 997c, will try the alternate methods suggested.

Next project, transducer mounting plan....

Tight Lines
Joe



Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Interlink 997C with 955C problem.
« Reply #12 on: February 03, 2012, 06:35:00 AM »
Joe, take a few minutes and search this forum on transducer installations. Also go to the gallery and look at insatallation pictures.
This may help you in selecting the location of the transducer.
They can be sensitive to the physical location.

Chuck


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
3 Replies
1638 Views
Last post February 17, 2011, 07:36:18 AM
by panman_va
4 Replies
1719 Views
Last post April 19, 2011, 05:38:12 AM
by sonar2000
35 Replies
14089 Views
Last post April 13, 2012, 10:08:16 AM
by sonar2000
2 Replies
1254 Views
Last post July 12, 2012, 07:32:58 AM
by stoporilshoot
13 Replies
3433 Views
Last post May 12, 2014, 10:01:42 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
2 Replies
780 Views
Last post June 23, 2014, 09:47:05 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
5 Replies
3014 Views
Last post July 08, 2014, 08:53:41 AM
by rnvinc
4 Replies
1226 Views
Last post June 02, 2016, 01:04:32 PM
by bgathye


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal