Author Topic: Uploading waypoints from SD to unit - what about existing ones?  (Read 4794 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tokerwashere

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: Indiana
  • Posts: 9
  • "so I got that going for me, which is nice".
  • Unit(s): 788ci HD
  • Software: 5.840
  • Accessories: none
This seems scary to me so I thought I would post it first. I like using Humminbird PC to edit/delete/rename my waypoints. So of course first I exported all nav data from unit to card / downloaded from card to PC / made changes / reloaded card / take it to my unit. But, here is the question...the waypoints loaded fine upon insert card/restart but - all the existing waypoints with old names are still on the unit! Now I have twice as many. I assume I will need to "select all and..delete" all waypoints off my unit first before loading the edited waypoints from card? That seems scary to me wanted to be sure. And, if I do that - what happens to all the screenshot images? Aren't those still on the card with the old waypoint names? Will I still end up with new waypoint names and old waypoint named screenshots? In other words, when you edit a waypoint name in HB PC, does it rename the screenshot image too? Sorry to be so wordy but, the two questions are again:
1) do I need to delete all exisitng waypoints from unit before load edited waypoints from SD?
2) If I do, what happens to the old screenshots?
Thanks!  :-\
"yea, well that's just like, your opinion man"


Offline wolfs4evr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Oct 2011
  • location: North Las Vegas
  • Posts: 149
  • Unit(s): 898c SI / 798ci HD SI
Re: Uploading waypoints from SD to unit - what about existing ones?
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2014, 11:00:54 AM »
Makes me nervous too everytime I do the exact same thing you do.  But that is what you have to do.  Export to the card and head to the house.  Do your thing and save back to the card.  Then head to the boat and turn on/select all and delete.  Then insert your card for the promt to reload nav points off the card, etc

Pictures are a seperate dealio and are not touched when one selects all and deletes.  Only waypoints/tracks get deleted.

As far as what happens to the pictures already on the unit verse waypoint name change...  Hmmm, good question.  Never paid attention to that.  Might have to check that out and see for myself.  I don't have too many pictures on mine/rarely go back and look at the waypoint/picture combo.  I snap pics all the time but clear it out often.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2014, 11:04:06 AM by wolfs4evr »

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Uploading waypoints from SD to unit - what about existing ones?
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2014, 12:37:37 PM »
I just tried it on a 998 unit that was running the 6.740 software.  made a few waypoints with snapshots.  Exported Nav Data to memory card and brought it into HumminbirdPC and changes the Waypoint names.  Selected to Delete All Nav data from the unit and installed memory card with modified Waypoint names.  All Waypoints imported fine and they still had their associated thumbnail images on the Chart View.  It did not change the Screen Snapshot *.PNG file names on the memory card.

Now, you go changing the *.PNG file or the *.DAT file names and you will not be able to View them on the unit (Snapshot and Recording View) even though the associated thumbnail image is still visible when you hover the cursor over the Waypoint.
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline slabbacks

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Sep 2013
  • location: Mid TN
  • Posts: 209
  • Is it Friday yet!
  • Unit(s): 898c HD SI / 859ci HD
  • Software: 6.490
Re: Uploading waypoints from SD to unit - what about existing ones?
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2014, 02:38:48 AM »
Did not do this step when I added my new waypoints back into my unit.  I still have my new stuff saved on HBPC.  SO I should go out and delete Nav data... pull the stuff back off HBPC and reload. 

With me failing to take the step to delete old data before adding the new, what does that do as far viewing or pulling up WP's vs the right way? 
Tell them I've gone fishing!

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Uploading waypoints from SD to unit - what about existing ones?
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2014, 08:21:00 AM »
It just makes another waypoint at all those waypoint locations/coordinates that you renamed.  If you renamed 15 out of 26 waypoints; you will now have a total of 37 waypoints listed but will only have 26 waypoint locations (15 of these having two waypoints).

Some have not realized what they were doing and have ended up with hundreds of locations with multiple waypoints.  I have helped clear this up by exporting the waypoint data, running it through an Excel spreadsheet, deleting those extra waypoints that have the same coordinates and bringing them back into HumminbirdPC.  It takes a little bit but its got to be better than starting all over again.

Remember to Export and save your Nav Data regularly.
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline slabbacks

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Sep 2013
  • location: Mid TN
  • Posts: 209
  • Is it Friday yet!
  • Unit(s): 898c HD SI / 859ci HD
  • Software: 6.490
Re: Uploading waypoints from SD to unit - what about existing ones?
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2014, 09:28:50 AM »
Thx Greg.  Me, probably not any where near that many at this point but would hate to had seen what all I would have had to go through in a year or so. 
Tell them I've gone fishing!

Offline tokerwashere

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: Indiana
  • Posts: 9
  • "so I got that going for me, which is nice".
  • Unit(s): 788ci HD
  • Software: 5.840
  • Accessories: none
Re: Uploading waypoints from SD to unit - what about existing ones?
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2014, 06:34:13 PM »
Thanks for all the replies! And for the info on snapshots vs waypoints. You will be surprised slabbacks just how many waypoints you collect. I am a weekend fisherman primarily and made two weekly trips a year and in only 2 seasons had over 140 waypoints. That is why its great to manage them on PC by first viewing in GE and delete if needed.
Now, off to delete the waypoints from my unit...wish me luck!  ;D
Tight lines all!
"yea, well that's just like, your opinion man"

Offline slabbacks

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Sep 2013
  • location: Mid TN
  • Posts: 209
  • Is it Friday yet!
  • Unit(s): 898c HD SI / 859ci HD
  • Software: 6.490
Re: Uploading waypoints from SD to unit - what about existing ones?
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2014, 02:45:16 AM »
Tok a while back I went into HBPC after pulling waypoints from my 898 after having it for about 5 months.  Like you said I went into google earth and saw many that was not needed or multiple ones of the same structure where I had tried to pinpoint better.  I deleted unneeded ones and gave names and icons to the ones left.  I saved these in my waypoints on google earth to add too later and then transferred these back to my unit thinking these were the only ones I had now and that I had cleaned my unit of trash waypoints.

After seeing this post I see that this was not the case and know now how to fix this....great post, thx
Tell them I've gone fishing!

Offline tokerwashere

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: Indiana
  • Posts: 9
  • "so I got that going for me, which is nice".
  • Unit(s): 788ci HD
  • Software: 5.840
  • Accessories: none
Re: Uploading waypoints from SD to unit - what about existing ones?
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2014, 04:47:33 AM »
Well slab and HB Greg, I did select all and delete from unit, then inserted card with my edited waypoints. Everything loaded right way no problem there. But, when I went to my snapshot and recording view it said no images found. I am fairly certain the snapshot folder and all the .pngs are on the card though. I didnt check to see if the snapshot is still associated with the waypoint in the chart view yet (when you hover cursor over it). Hopefully that is the case.
Only thought why this is..when you down (or up whatever) load from PC to SD - it asks add or repalce. When you hit replace, it says-do you want to delete all currently on card and replace? So I said yes. I dont think this would replace the shapshot images. I need to pull the card and see if they are on there or not. A little frustrating, but at least my waypoints are nice n tidy.
In HB Greg example, he downloaded/edited/uploaded the same gpx file and snapshots stayed associated with the waypoint. I took a saved gpx file and uploaded/replaced. Not sure if that contributed to the issue.
"yea, well that's just like, your opinion man"

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Uploading waypoints from SD to unit - what about existing ones?
« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2014, 08:31:03 AM »
Your snapshots should still be there Toker.
I would not think that using a saved *.GPX file would change anything.

Just be aware that if you marked two waypoints for the same structure/location and only one of them also made a screen snapshot; then if this is the one you delete than the snapshot does not automatically get associated to the other waypoint but the snapshot *.PNG file would still be on the memory card.
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline LittleGazoo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jan 2011
  • location: Big Sandy, TX
  • Posts: 211
  • Unit(s): 1197cSI, 998cSI
  • Software: 6.310, 6.490
  • Accessories: Ethernet, WeatherSense
Re: Uploading waypoints from SD to unit - what about existing ones?
« Reply #10 on: April 24, 2014, 10:36:30 AM »
We save a waypoint, your units create a default waypoint-name like WP013

We save a waypoint, your units create a default waypoint-name like S00110 when Snapshots On
Also the SNAPSHOT folder will contain 2 files, S00110.DAT, S00110.PNG

Download into HumminbirdPC 4.3.8 will create a default GPX file-name like SD_140424.GPX
This is the GPX XML data:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="no"?>
<gpx xmlns="http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/1" xmlns:h="http://www.humminbird.com" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" creator="Humminbird PC 4.3.8" version="1.1" xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/1 http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/1/gpx.xsd">
  <wpt lat="31.25438301504926" lon="-94.35523443346835">
    <time>2008-06-14T16:30:22Z</time>
    <name>S00110</name>
    <sym>Snapshot</sym>
    <extensions>
      <h:id>1</h:id>
      <h:visible>true</h:visible>
      <h:depth>852.0</h:depth>
      <h:share>true</h:share>
      <h:status>1</h:status>
    </extensions>
  </wpt>
  <wpt lat="31.25496951590062" lon="-94.35525239906704">
    <time>2008-06-14T16:30:48Z</time>
    <name>WP013</name>
    <sym>Waypoint</sym>
    <extensions>
      <h:id>2</h:id>
      <h:visible>true</h:visible>
      <h:depth>938.0</h:depth>
      <h:share>true</h:share>
      <h:status>1</h:status>
    </extensions>
  </wpt>
  <extensions>
    <h:grproot>
      <h:name>Home</h:name>
      <h:children>
        <h:wptref>1</h:wptref>
        <h:wptref>2</h:wptref>
      </h:children>
    </h:grproot>
  </extensions>
</gpx>

The distinguishing data is <name> tag and the HB extension <h:id></h:id> tag
I'll guess that 1 of those 2, must tie back to the SNAPSHOT file.

When I change both waypoint-name in HBPC, then the <name> tag reflects the name change, and the <h:id> tag remains the same.

When I import back to the unit, the unit has 4 waypoint-names with 2 waypoint-locations.

When I export and download back into HBPC, the new HBPC GPX file has 4 waypoint-names with 2 waypoint-locations.
But each waypoint's <h:id> is now unique.

The original S00110 waypoint's <h:id> did remain the same whether necessary or just by the unit's output order
That I cannot answer, but Greg or a HB engineer might.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2014, 11:09:30 AM by LittleGazoo »

Offline LittleGazoo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jan 2011
  • location: Big Sandy, TX
  • Posts: 211
  • Unit(s): 1197cSI, 998cSI
  • Software: 6.310, 6.490
  • Accessories: Ethernet, WeatherSense
Re: Uploading waypoints from SD to unit - what about existing ones?
« Reply #11 on: April 24, 2014, 10:59:35 AM »
And if you desire to delve into deeper things, you can check-out the GPX XML 1.1 schema documentation and XSD by clicking the the URLS from this GPX:

xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/1 http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/1/gpx.xsd">

Maybe of interest on Waypoint Latitude/Longitude is this:
<xsd:documentation> The latitude of the point. This is always in decimal degrees, and always in WGS84 datum. </xsd:documentation>
<xsd:documentation> The longitude of the point. This is always in decimal degrees, and always in WGS84 datum. </xsd:documentation>

So per HB GPX:
Waypoint-location is ALWAYS in DECIMAL DEGREES to 14 decimal-points, the Latitude/Format Format you choose to display is just that - For Display or Operational use Only.
Lowrance GPX is Decimal Degrees to 8 decimal-points.

Also notice the HB-extensions to the industry GPX XML standard:
    <extensions>
      <h:id>1</h:id>
      <h:visible>true</h:visible>
      <h:depth>852.0</h:depth>
      <h:share>true</h:share>
      <h:status>1</h:status>
    </extensions>
Note the DEPTH is a HB extension to the industry GPX XML.  Will bet my US depth measurement is in Inches.
Be aware the HBPC will NOT open a GPX version 1.0 file.

Onward into the fog. . .


 
« Last Edit: April 27, 2014, 06:17:28 PM by LittleGazoo »

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Uploading waypoints from SD to unit - what about existing ones?
« Reply #12 on: April 24, 2014, 12:30:58 PM »
 ???
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline tokerwashere

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: Indiana
  • Posts: 9
  • "so I got that going for me, which is nice".
  • Unit(s): 788ci HD
  • Software: 5.840
  • Accessories: none
Re: Uploading waypoints from SD to unit - what about existing ones?
« Reply #13 on: April 24, 2014, 09:03:32 PM »
you had me at xml data...

I think Greg summed it up pretty well.
I am a nerd too, but I wish I could say your posts were helpful.
Interesting, but...had to be said!
"yea, well that's just like, your opinion man"

Offline slabbacks

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Sep 2013
  • location: Mid TN
  • Posts: 209
  • Is it Friday yet!
  • Unit(s): 898c HD SI / 859ci HD
  • Software: 6.490
Re: Uploading waypoints from SD to unit - what about existing ones?
« Reply #14 on: April 25, 2014, 12:40:47 AM »
 >:D....nope, I'll be good.  I'm confused enough as it is  ;D
Tell them I've gone fishing!


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
1931 Views
Last post April 05, 2010, 04:11:06 PM
by easysailor
4 Replies
2307 Views
Last post October 28, 2010, 11:26:34 PM
by Barmic
4 Replies
1420 Views
Last post February 29, 2012, 09:39:21 AM
by sonar2000
4 Replies
2195 Views
Last post April 17, 2012, 04:24:56 PM
by sonar2000
1 Replies
1346 Views
Last post April 24, 2012, 06:41:08 AM
by wolfs4evr
1 Replies
1290 Views
Last post August 27, 2012, 01:11:04 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
5 Replies
2190 Views
Last post January 11, 2013, 09:10:23 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
1 Replies
1253 Views
Last post February 28, 2014, 07:58:43 AM
by Humminbird_Greg


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal